Faculty of Engineering

Studying in the Faculty of Engineering

Engineering is a discipline for the development of technologies through an understanding of science, including physics, mathematics, and chemistry. Engineering subsequently gives those technologies back to society to enrich the lives of human beings. Unlike other disciplines that take a long time to take root, engineering is characterized by the fact that the developed technologies are accepted in society in a more rapid cycle. Without the perspectives not only of technology development but also of economics, business administration, and the law, these technologies might become self-righteous.

Tohoku Gakuin University is expected to demonstrate its strength as a comprehensive university. Students can nurture their dreams about what technologies are necessary for the well-being of people in Japan and worldwide while exchanging views with liberal arts students. Therefore, students are expected to have experiences for developing ideas for technologies, not only through lectures but also through experiments and research activities.

Overview of the Faculty of Engineering

The Faculty of Engineering comprises three departments encompassing those crucially important technologies that support fundamental social infrastructures. In the Department of Mechanical Engineering and Intelligent Systems, students can study manufacturing, including automobiles and robotics through lectures, seminars, and research. In the Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, electricity/control, information/communications, semiconductor/device, and other electricity system-related technologies could be studied. Also, in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, the basics, applications, and advanced technologies of environmental civil engineering and architecture/design could be studied. In all departments, students can obtain various national qualifications by earning the required credits.

Tohoku Gakuin University fosters engineers who support Japan, a technology-oriented nation.